Home » News » Franz is ATHENA Leadership Award recipient

Franz is ATHENA Leadership Award recipient


By Press Times staff

GREEN BAY – On Sept. 13, the Greater Green Bay Chamber recognized local individuals who have demonstrated excellence in the community.

Northeast Wisconsin Manufacturing Alliance (NEWMA) Executive Director Ann Franz was presented with the ATHENA Leadership Award.

“Ann is a visionary leader whose dedication has transformed northeast Wisconsin’s landscape,” a chamber release stated.

“In her role, she’s transformed the region into a national model of industry collaboration. She created NEWMA 17 years ago and it’s grown to include over 360 companies throughout Northeast Wisconsin. Ann’s leadership has elevated the region’s industry sector employing over half of the workforce. Her neutral approach shattered barriers, empowering competitors to unite, advancing workforce development. Her legacy, marked by humility, persistence and a commitment to building bridges continues to shape communities, and inspire change.”

“It is truly challenging to find an adequate amount of kind words to genuinely describe Ann,” said chamber president/CEO, Laurie Radke. “Her remarkable humility often obscures the fact that she is an unwavering champion for transformative change, an unyielding force in breaking down barriers and a steadfast pillar of support for manufacturing and our community. The Greater Green Bay area is a better place because of Ann.”

The ATHENA award is presented by the chamber to individuals who have demonstrated excellence in their business or professions, have generously assisted in the advancement of women and have devoted time and energy to serving their community.

“The award not only recognizes the accomplishments of the recipients, but it celebrates the wisdom, strength and enlightenment of the recipient. Both men and women who are employed by members of the chamber are eligible for the award,” the release added.

Recipients are selected by previous ATHENA awardees, who have been recognized since 1985.

That evening, Kelsey Lutzow was also recognized with the Daniel Whitney Award, and Liz Krumwiede was named “Ambassador of the Year.”

Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top