Home » News » Two contested trustee seats, one with no candidate in Howard

Two contested trustee seats, one with no candidate in Howard

By Press Times Staff

HOWARD – Of the six trustee seats up for election this spring on the Howard village board, two are being contested with two candidates, but one race will have no one on the ballot.

Trustee Ron Bredael, who represents Wards 1-2, filed a declaration of non-candidacy indicating he won’t be seeking a new two-year term.

However, no one filed nomination papers by the 5 p.m. deadline Jan. 2 to be placed on the ballot for that open seat, said Chris Haltom, director of administrative services.

As a result, when the spring general election is held April 2, the person who receives the most write-in votes could win that seat.

Of the two contested trustee races in Howard, one will be for a two-year term and the other will be for one year.

Craig McAllister, who represents Wards 15-17 and was first elected two years ago, will be seeking another two-year term while being challenged by Brian Miller.

The two candidates running for a one-year term in Wards 9-10 faced each other a year ago while seeking a full two-year term, but both ended up being outpolled by the eventual winner.

Scott Beyer, who was eliminated last February in a three-way primary, took his seat on the board in July when he was appointed to replace Jim Lemorande, who passed away in June.

The other candidate, Tim Meves, who lost in last April’s general election, had also sought the appointment last summer when the board selected Beyer to fill the seat until this April.

Meves and Beyer will run against each other for the right to serve out the final year of the term.

Another trustee who was appointed last year, John Muraski (Wards 7-8), is running unopposed this spring for a one-year term. Muraski joined the board in September to replace Mike Hoppe, who resigned last summer.

Two trustees running for new two-year terms are unopposed. They include Chris Nielsen (Wards 3-4) and Adam Lemorande (Wards 13, 14 and 18).

Nielsen previously served on the village board from 1997-99 and rejoined the board in April 2017, while Adam Lemorande has been a board member since January 2015.

Suamico seats unopposed

There will be no challengers for incumbents this April for the Suamico village board.

Incumbents Mike Schneider and Sky VanRossum will run unopposed for three-year terms.

VanRossum was appointed on May 16, 2011 to fill Pat Jelen’s trustee position when Jelen was elected village president in April 2011. He ran and won in 2013 and 2016.

Schneider has served on the village board since 2016.

Two HSSD members not seeking reelection

There will be two new board members on the Howard-Suamico School District Board of Education come April.

Mark Ashley, who has served on the board for eight years, and Maria Lara, who was appointed in June 2018 to fill the seat of Laura Barnard, will not seek reelection.

Of the three school board seats up for election this spring, incumbent and current board president Teresa Ford will run unopposed. She has served on the board for 14 years.

Newcomers Scott Jandrin and Jason Potts will also run unopposed in April.

Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top