Home » Sports » Bay Port » Bay Port, De Pere, both get opening-season wins

Bay Port, De Pere, both get opening-season wins

By Rich Palzewic
Sports Editor

Both the Bay Port and De Pere football teams got opening-season Fox River Classic Conference wins last night, but they were two opposite games.

The Pirates had a 55-6 lead at the half over Sheboygan North in route to a 62-6 victory, while the Redbirds squeaked by with a tough 15-13 win over Manitowoc Lincoln.

Bay Port rolls: The Pirates won their 19th consecutive FRCC game by rolling up 434 yards of total offense.

Bay Port had a 35-0 lead after the first quarter and cruised from there.

Senior quarterback Jake Plummer attempted just three passes and completed them all for 146 yards. The first-year starter tossed a 69-yard touchdown to Cody Lindquist just 23 seconds into the game.

Junior Andrew Thomas also saw action.

The Pirates amassed 242 yards rushing, being led by Isaiah Gash and Carter Zawlocki, who each had 73 yards.

Gash scored four touchdowns in the first quarter.

Monty Wendricks, Alexander Larsen, Matt Grzbowski and Ben Storby all had fumble recoveries.

Bay Port will travel to Sheboygan South on Thursday, Aug. 23, for another FRCC game.

De Pere holds on late: After the Redbirds took a 13-7 lead early in the third quarter, the Ships scored late to pull within two, but their two-point conversion try was no good to seal the victory for De Pere at home.

Caelan Markusen scored from six yards out at the 7:09 mark to give the Redbirds a 7-0 lead.

Quarterback Landon Kirby, who missed all of last year with a torn ACL, hit Ben Callaway with a 34-yard strike to open the third quarter for a 13-7 De Pere lead.

Both teams struggled offensively, with Lincoln being held to just 164 yards by a stout De Pere defense, while the Redbirds’ offense mustered 212 total yards.

The senior Kirby was 10-of-21 for 99 yards with the one score. He was also picked off once.

Markusen rushed for 57 yards on 21 attempts.

De Pere will host Green Bay Southwest Aug. 23 at 7:00.

Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top