Home » Sports » Ashwaubenon » Jaguars tennis places four flights on all-conference team

Jaguars tennis places four flights on all-conference team

By Murray Gleffe


ASHWAUBENON-The Jaguars boys tennis team went 9-6 overall and finished fourth (6-3) in the Fox River Classic Conference.

Ashwaubenon defeated Bay Port, Manitowoc, Pulaski, and Sheboygan South by 6-1 scores.

Additionally, the Jaguars won versus Green Bay Preble 5-2 and pulled out a close one against Sheboygan North 4-3.

The team also won the Portage Invite and finished runner-up at the Beaver Dam Invite.

Three of the Jaguars six losses were by a final of 4-3.

“I was really happy at how we started the year off winning down in Portage,” said Scott Conradt, Jaguars Tennis Coach. “We carried that momentum into conference where we performed well. A 9-6 season could have been a 12-3 season with a few more individual wins within the team structure. I am still happy with the success the team had with the amount of freshman we had to play in our varsity line-up.”

Jacob Hanson, Alex Steinfest, and Grant Atwood all qualified for Sectionals.

Kole Kolinski and Colin Chapman took it one step farther and qualified for State where they won their first round in Madison.

For their success on the tennis court, the Jaguars put their one and two singles, and one and two doubles on the all-conference team in 2018.

“To have 60 percent of our varsity guys make all conference is an impressive achievement,” added Conradt. “These guys knew we had graduated 16 seniors in 2017 and put the time and effort in during the winter months. It paid off within the conference and then down the stretch in the postseason.”


Ashwaubenon Boys Tennis Final Records (All-Conference individuals)

Hanson 15-7

Conradt 15-6

Kolinski/Chapman 19-4

Atwood/Steinfest 10-5


FRCC 2018 All-Conference Tennis Honors

First Team

1 Singles John Zakowski Green Bay Southwest

1 Singles Nathan Balthazor De Pere

1 Singles Sebastian Guo Green Bay Preble

2 Singles Michael Vivian Green Bay Southwest

3 Singles Steven Fredeen Green Bay Southwest

4 Singles Owen Stieber Green Bay Southwest

1 Doubles Ben Fredeen/Jayden Wartman Green Bay Southwest

1 Doubles Kolinski/Chapman Ashwaubenon

1 Doubles Christian Remington/Josh Janssen Notre Dame

2 Doubles Lucas Stieber/Juan Pablo Cabezas Green Bay Southwest

3 Doubles Joe Massabni/Ryan Schram Notre Dame


Second Team

1 Singles Will Schneider Notre Dame

2 Singles Myles Krzewinski Notre Dame

3 Singles JV Steckart Notre Dame

4 Singles Tommy Zakowski Notre Dame

1 Doubles Nick Manis/Jack Rotter Manitowoc

2 Doubles Steinfest/Atwood Ashwaubenon

3 Doubles Hudson Menne/Tanner Belschner Bay Port


Honorable Mention

1 Singles Hanson Ashwaubenon

2 Singles Conradt Ashwaubenon

3 Singles Fuchi Yang Sheboygan South

4 Singles Matthew De Trana Sheboygan South

1 Doubles Eric Stratman/Aaron Murphy Bay Port

2 Doubles Brett Fuglestad/Travis Van De Yacht Bay Port


Player of the Year

Zakowski-Green Bay Southwest

Doubles Team of the Year

Fredeen/Wartman Green Bay Southwest

Coach of the Year

Randy Nelson Green Bay Southwest

Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top