Home » Sports » Bay Port » Boys’ swim wins third consecutive FRCC title

Boys’ swim wins third consecutive FRCC title


SHEBOYGAN – Twelve up and twelve down for the Bay Port boys’ swim team.

The Pirates kept their perfect season intact by winning a third Fox River Classic Conference title in a row at Sheboygan South High School Feb. 3.

Bay Port’s score of 593 points easily outdistanced Green Bay United’s 412 for second place.

The Pirates will compete in the WIAA D1 Neenah Sectional Saturday, Feb. 10, before the state meet in Madison Feb. 17. Bay Port will be gunning for its second straight sectional title this weekend.

“Some of our underclassmen dropped some serious time,” said Bay Port head coach Steve Jeffers. “I’m excited for sectionals (Saturday) when our upperclassmen should drop time and have some excellent swims. We are looking forward to the challenge. We are happy to accomplish one of our season goals of winning a FRCC championship. The jump into the water following the meet is always refreshing and doesn’t get old.”

A highlight on the day for Bay Port was sweeping the top three spots in the 500 Freestyle.

Overall event winners for the Pirates were: Aaron Donovan – 200 Freestyle (1:50:40) and 500 Freestyle (5:01:01); Calvin Schilz – 200 IM (1:59:37); Griffin Hawley – 50 Freestyle (22:18) and 100 Freestyle (49:57); and the 200 Freestyle Relay team (Hawley, Wyatt Dvorak, Mitchell Meurer, Donovan – 1:31:13).

Second-place finishers included: the 200 Medley Relay team (Alec Jeffers, Peter Martin, Schilz, Hawley – 1:43:80); Isiah Konopacki – 500 Freestyle (5:07:33); Schilz – 100 Breastroke (1:03:30); and the 400 Freestyle Relay team (Donovan, Dvorak, Jeffers, Schilz – 3:21:59).

Third-place finishers were: the 200 Medley Relay team (Kyle Zerbel, Meurer, Ben Storby, Tucker Rudolph – 1:45:24); Storby – 200 Freestyle (1:52:24) and 100 Butterfly (56:89); Martin – 500 Freestyle (5:07:53); and Jeffers – 100 Backstroke (55:02).

Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top