Home » Sports » PREP ROUNDUP: NDA XC teams win invite

PREP ROUNDUP: NDA XC teams win invite

Bay Port, Ashwaubenon tie in swim relays
By Greg Bates
Sports Editor

Area cross country teams heated up last week. There were some large races in Two Rivers and Freedom where the locals did well.

Two Rivers Invitational
Paced by having five of the top 13 finishers, the Notre Dame Academy boys’ cross country team easily won the Two Rivers Invitational on Aug. 25.

Notre Dame was tops in the 14-team field with a team score of 43. Manitowoc Lincoln (105) was runner-up, fol1owed by Kohler (108), West De Pere (122) and Bay Port (129).

Tritons senior Isaac Nowak (16:45) came in third overall, with teammates Joseph Stumpf (17:21) coming in sixth, Jackson Fogarty (17:47) in ninth, Federicco Auricchio (17:51)in 12th, Joseph Hunt (17:53) in 13th, Bryce Hawley (17:58) in 14th and Braeden Tilot (18:00) in 15th.

West De Pere’s Noah Jahnke (16:01) finished second overall — just one second behind the winner. His teammate, Matthew Schmoll, was fourth (16:59).

Bay Port’s top two finishers were Nicholas Pufall (17:49) and Landen Heim (17:50), who placed in 10th and 11th, respectively.

On the girls’ side, Notre Dame also took home first place.

Lauren Carlton (20:33) paced the Tritons with a fourth-place finish. Zita Lulloff (20:39) finished fifth, Camille Broullire (21:01) was sixth and Monika Stoic (21:11) was seventh.

Kate Schmoll was West De Pere’s top finisher in second (19:26).

Bay Port, which came in second as a team, was led by Reese Gustafson (21:20) in eighth.

Freedom Irish Waters Invitational
The De Pere boys’ cross country team finished second overall in the large schools division of the Freedom Irish Waters Invitational on Aug. 26.

Winneconne (41) was first, followed by De Pere (64) and Kaukauna (77). Seymour came in sixth (151).
Freshman Grady Lenn (16:38.36) finished second overall for De Pere. Enoch Thielhelm (18:06.19) was 12th for the Redbirds.

Seymour’s top finisher was Reid Clement (17:55.95) in 10th.

For the girls, De Pere junior Hope Dragseth won the large school race (18:36.90) as her team finished sixth (110). Kaukauna (43) won the team competition.

De Pere’s Emma Coon (19:28.40) was fifth overall.

FRCC girls’ swimming relays
The Fox River Classic Conference Relays for girls’ swimming could be a great indication of how tight of a race it will be in conference this year.

Bay Port and Ashwaubenon ended up tying in the relays with 130 points each.

Bay Port won just two of the nine A relays, but scored enough second-place finishes to tie Ashwaubenon. The Jaguars were tops in four of the A relays.

Green Bay United (94) came in third, followed by De Pere (76) and Pulaski (68) to round out the top five.
Ashwaubenon won A relays in: 200-yard medley relay (1:55.28); 3×200-yard freestyle relay (6:36.33); 3×100-yard backstroke (3:15.06); 400-yard freestyle relay (3:39.79).

Bay Port was tops in A relays: 200-yard freestyle relay (1:50.84); 300-yard breaststroke (3:34.48).
Green Bay United won A relays in: 400-yard medley relay (4:24.54); 500-yard freestyle relay (5:01.06); 200-yard butterfly relay (1:55.54).

Ashwaubenon seniors Liz Witt and Bry Bellile were each part of three winning relays. Sophomore Erin Schuch and junior Sienna Nitke helped two relays take home first.

Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top