Home » News » Slate of candidates set for local municipal elections

Slate of candidates set for local municipal elections

By Press Times Staff

BROWN COUNTY – A number of contested local municipal races will be on the ballot this spring.

The general election is set for April 6 with primaries necessary to narrow the field of candidates taking place Feb. 16.

In the City of De Pere, four of the eight aldermanic seats are up for new two-year terms with two being contested.

A primary will be held in District 2, where two-term Alderperson Jonathon Hansen is being challenged by Susan Netzel and Daniel Gaumer.

In District 1, Nathan Cummings filed papers to run against Amy Chandik Kundinger, who is in her first term in office.

A two-term alderman in District 4, Casey Nelson, filed a declaration of non-candidacy indicating he won’t be running again.

John Quigley filed papers to run for Nelson’s seat.

In District 3, Dean Raasch, who was first appointed to the city council in June 2014, filed papers to run for another term.


There will be a contested race for the three-year term for village president in Bellevue with the incumbent, Steve Soukup, being challenged by Jackie Krull.

The two-year terms of two of Bellevue’s four at-large trustees – Dave Kaster and Adam Gauthier – also are up for election this spring with both incumbents running unopposed.


A rematch of last year’s race for municipal judge will be on the ballot in the Village of Howard.

Village Trustee Cathy Hughes lost last spring’s general election by 35 votes (2,155-2,190) to Brian Stevens for a one-year term as municipal judge, and the two are running again for a full four-year term.

Stevens was first appointed as municipal judge by the village board, effective Nov. 1, 2019, to replace Gregg Schreiber, who resigned in 2019 after about 20 years in office because he moved out of the village.

Hughes and Stevens both applied for the appointment along with attorney Quinn Jolly.

This past April, Hughes faced Stevens for a one-year term to fill out Schreiber’s term in office when she was re-elected to a two-year term as a trustee in Wards 5-6.

Four of Howard’s eight trustee seats are up for election this spring to new two-year terms.

The four incumbents running without opposition include Maria Lasecki (Wards 1-2), Chris Nielsen (Wards 3-4), Adam Lemorande (Wards 13-14 and 18) and Craig McAllister (Wards 15-17).


Three of the six trustee seats on the Ashwaubenon village board are up for new three-year terms with three incumbents having been appointed by the board last year to fill unexpired terms which end this April.

Mark Williams, who represented Wards 7- 8 before moving out of the district last year, filed nomination papers for trustee in Wards 11-12 to face the appointed incumbent, Tracy Flucke.

Williams and Flucke were two of four applicants who sought the appointment in Wards 11-12 last year when Michael Malcheski resigned because of moving out of the area.

The incumbents appointed last year to the two other Ashwaubenon trustee seats up for election also filed nomination papers with Jay Krueger in Wards 7-8 and Steve Kubacki in Wards 9-10 running unopposed.


Three at-large trustee seats are up for election to new three-year terms in the Village of Allouez with incumbents Rob Atwood and Lynn Green running again and Sarah Deutsch seeking a board seat.

Penny Dart decided not to seek re-election.

Allouez’s municipal judge, Bob Dennis, is seeking a new four-year term running unopposed.


The at-large seats of two of the six Suamico trustees are up for new three-year terms with incumbents Michelle Eckert and Dan Roddan being challenged by Nicholas Bonafilia.


Two of the four at-large trustee seats in Hobart are up for new two-year terms with incumbents Dave Dillenburg and Tim Carpenter facing no opposition.

Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top