Home » News » Contested primaries to be held in three local legislative races

Contested primaries to be held in three local legislative races

By Press Times Staff

BROWN COUNTY – Following last week’s filing deadline for legislative candidates, three contested primaries have materialized for districts in parts of Brown County.

In the 90th Assembly District, Democratic incumbent Staush Gruszynski faces a primary challenge Aug. 11 from Kristina Shelton, a Green Bay school board member, in Gruszynski’s bid for a second two-year term.

The primary winner would advance to the Nov. 3 general election.

The only other candidate filing nomination papers to run for Gruszynski’s seat was Republican Drew Kirsteatter of Green Bay.

A Republican primary has materialized in the 89th Assembly District, where a seven-term incumbent, John Nygren of Marinette, faces Andi Rich of Marinette.

Karl Jaeger of Marinette, a Democrat, is the only other candidate to file papers.

With State Sen. Dave Hansen not seeking another four-year term in the 30th Senate District after 20 years in office, a Democratic primary materialized with two candidates.

Hansen’s nephew, Jonathon Hansen, a De Pere alderman, is running as a Democrat as is Sandra Ewald of Green Bay.

The primary winner would face Republican Eric Wimberger of Green Bay, who narrowly lost to Dave Hansen four years ago in the general election.

Other local legislative races have no more than one candidate per party filing papers.

Barring a successful primary write-in campaign, those candidates would advance to the general election.

In the 1st Assembly District, Republican Joel Kitchens of Sturgeon Bay is running for a fourth two-year term with Democratic challenger Kim Delorit Jensen of Egg Harbor also in the race.

In the 2nd Assembly District, Republican Shae Sortwell of the Town of Gibson is seeking his second term in office while being challenged by Democrat Mark Kiley of Two Rivers.

In the 4th Assembly District, the three-term incumbent Republican, David Steffen of Howard, is being challenged by Democrat Kathy Hinkfuss of Green Bay.

In the 88th Assembly District, another three-term incumbent Republican, John Macco of Ledgeview, is being challenged by Democrat Kristin Lyerly of De Pere.

Two local Republican state lawmakers, Jim Steineke of Kaukauna in the Assembly and Rob Cowles of Green Bay in the Senate, are the only ones running in their respective districts.

Steineke, the Assembly majority leader, is unopposed in District 5, while Cowles, who was first elected to the Senate in 1987, is the only candidate granted ballot status in District 2.

No contested races for four Brown County offices

There will be no contested races on the ballot for four Brown County offices up for new four-year terms.

County Clerk Sandra Juno is not seeking re-election, and only Patrick Moynihan Jr., Village of Ashwaubenon clerk-treasurer, filed nomination papers to run for county clerk as a Republican.

For register of deeds, only the Republican incumbent, Cheryl Berken, filed papers to get her name on the ballot.

Republican incumbent Paul Zeller is only candidate who filed for county treasurer.

For district attorney, the Republican incumbent, David Lasee, is running unopposed.

The partisan primary is scheduled for Aug. 11 with the general election set for Nov. 3.

Congressional race

Eighth District Congressman Mike Gallagher (R-Allouez) is seeking his third two-year term to represent Northeast Wisconsin in Washington, D.C.

Gallagher faces opposition in the general election with State Rep. Amanda Stuck of Appleton running as a Democrat.

To request an absentee ballot, visit myvote.wi.gov.

Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top