Home » News » Several win area primary elections

Several win area primary elections

By Press Times Staff

BROWN COUNTY – The ballot for the April 7 general election was finalized after the results of Tuesday’s primary whittled down candidates in contested races.

Here is a breakdown of who advanced to the general election:

Green Bay Common Council District 6

Incumbent Kathy Lefebvre and Stewart Larsen will face off for the District 6 council seat.

Lefebvre received 192 votes, or 39.18 percent, while Larsen received 135 votes, or 27.55 percent.

Michael Lee received 96 votes, Paul Boucher received 33 and Justin Paradise received 29 and was eliminated.

Green Bay Common Council District 9

Incumbent Brian Johnson and longtime local politician Guy Zima won the right to face each other for the District 9 council seat.

Johnson received 356 votes, or 45.01 percent, while Zima received 265 votes, or 33.5 percent.

Desiree May received 169 votes and did not advance.

Green Bay school board

The field of five has been narrowed to four candidates seeking two seats on the Green Bay School Board.

Incumbent Laura McCoy was the top vote-getter with 5,397 votes, or 30 percent, followed by Dawn Smith with 5,281 votes, or 29.36 percent, Jason Davies with 2,748 votes, or 15.28 percent, and Boucher with 2,310 votes, or 12.84 percent.

Marcus Grignon received 2,141 votes and was knocked off the ballot.

Brown County Board District 6

Incumbent Kathy Lefebvre will face Ken Corry for the District 6 seat on the Brown County board.

Lefebvre received 236 votes, or 53.27 percent, while Corry received 140 votes, or 31.6 percent.

Boucher received 63 votes and was eliminated in another race, only surviving in his bid to be on the Green Bay school board.

De Pere Common Council District 1

The four people seeking two ballot spots for De Pere’s District 1 on the common council has been narrowed down to two.

Shana Defnet Ledvina was the top vote-getter with 569 votes, or 60.86 percent of ballots cast, followed by Randy Soquet with 238 votes, or 25.45 percent.

Joshua Errer received 71 votes and Ted Kenekis received 54 in not advancing.

De Pere Common Council District 2

Kelly Ruh will face Matt Gruetzmacher in the April 7 race for District 2 in De Pere after receiving 240 votes, or 44.2 percent, and 183 votes, or 33.7 percent respectively.

Carol Spice received 117 votes and was eliminated.

Editor’s note: The Press Times will feature candidate question articles for all local races in every issue from Feb. 28 up until the April election.

Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top