Home » Sports » De Pere wrestling wins first-ever conference title

De Pere wrestling wins first-ever conference title

By Rich Palzewic
Sports Editor

PULASKI – It was a historic night for the De Pere wrestling team Feb. 6.

For the first time in program history, the Redbirds won a conference title with a 35-27 Fox River Classic Conference victory over Pulaski.

“There are 14 guys on the team, and this has been a long time coming,” said De Pere head coach Matt Kincade. “We knocked at the door for a long time, and I’m proud of these kids. They’ve put in lots of work and bought into the philosophy of one match at a time.”

It was also the first time in school history the Redbirds beat the Red Raiders in wrestling.

“I went back to 1960 in the record books, and we’ve never beaten Pulaski before tonight,” Kincade said. “It wasn’t pretty, but we got it done. Bay Port and Pulaski have always been the powers of the conference. We have more depth this season, and it means De Pere is doing things right.”

The Redbirds finished a perfect 7-0 in FRCC duals, while Bay Port finished runner-up at 6-1.

Pulaski slotted in third at 5-2.

With the dual starting at the 285-pound weight classification, De Pere jumped out to a 17-0 lead after the first four matches before the Red Raiders won two consecutive.

De Pere’s Shane Corrigan, the No. 3-ranked wrestler in the state at 106, pinned Ethan Eggert in 22 seconds.

Michael Anderson (160) also recorded a pin for the Redbirds, while Pulaski’s Mason Wells (195) and Will Friedman (220) did the same.

“It shows the hard work we put in paid off,” said senior Sam Bruss, who wrestles at 145. “It’s nice to win a conference championship. Pulaski has been a big rival, and it was fun to beat them on their home mat.”

The WIAA Division 1 regional will take place Feb. 15 at Green Bay Preble High School.

The top four wrestlers in each class will advance to sectionals Feb. 22 at Ashwaubenon High School.

The top two will advance to the individual state meet Feb. 27-29 at the Kohl Center in Madison.

De Pere 35, Pulaski 27

106: Shane Corrigan (DP) def. Ethan Eggert (PUL) (fall, 0:22).

113: Collin Hansen (DP) def. Ashton Kapla (PUL) (major decision, 9-1).

120: Shayn Quick (DP) def. Ryan Frewerd (PUL) (decision, 5-0).

126: Alex Stoychoff (PUL) def. Jared Fietz (DP) (decision, 6-0).

132: Joseph O’Leary (PUL) def. Brennan Kincade (DP) (decision, 7-3).

138: Andrew Lopez (DP) def. Brady Gille (PUL) (decision, 5-2).

145: Sam Bruss (DP) (forfeit).

152: Hunter Mashl (DP) def. Mitchell Kitzman (PUL) (decision, 7-5).

160: Michael Alexander (DP) def. Mitchell Delebreau (PUL) (fall, 5:06).

170: Jadin Lemke (PUL) (forfeit).

182: Trenton Gibbons (PUL) def. Daniel Fernandez (DP) (decision, 5-3).

195: Mason Wells (PUL) def. Zane Selner (DP) (fall, 3:07).

220: Will Friedman (PUL) def. Sam Hafner (DP) (fall, 5:27).

285: Kyjuan Vengrowsky (DP) def. Aaron Hawpetoss (PUL) (major decision, 16-4).

Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top