Home » News » Howard-Suamico Golden Apple winners honored

Howard-Suamico Golden Apple winners honored

By Ben Rodgers

SUAMICO – Two educators who are among the best at what they do were honored Monday, April 22, at the Howard-Suamico school board meeting.

Teri Deavers, a special education teacher, and Mary Swinford, a science teacher and student council advisor, both at Bay View Middle School, were honored by the school board for winning Golden Apple awards.

“Your performance inspires us all to continually strive for excellence in overcoming the challenges we face, and to appreciate and enjoy the tremendous rewards of our successes,” said Teresa Ford, board president.

Swinford said the award doesn’t belong to her, but to her fellow teachers and the administrators that support her every day.

“You can’t do this alone,” she said. “You have to do this with a bunch of support and I feel I have been very supported here.”

The pair makes up two of seven teachers who received individual awards April 17.

The winners were narrowed down from a pool of 45 teachers of distinction in the greater Green Bay area.

In other news, the school board swore in two newly elected members, Jason Potts and Scott Jandrin.

The two ran unopposed to fill seats left by Mark Ashley and Maria Lara. Ford also ran unopposed.

The school board also reorganized and held its annual elections.

Ford was re-elected president, Gary Sievert was elected vice president, Jeff Eilers was elected clerk and Vanessa Moran was elected treasurer.

Eilers also agreed to continue to serve as the board’s CESA 7 representative.

Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top