Home » Sports » Redbirds defeat Jaguars in final match

Redbirds defeat Jaguars in final match


DE PERE – The De Pere wrestling team used the 14th and final match of the evening to defeat Ashwaubenon 42-34 in a Fox River Classic Conference dual Dec. 13 at De Pere High School.

De Pere’s Daniel Fernandez pinned Austin Kiewiz in the third period in the 170-pound match to clinch the victory for the Redbirds.

“First off, I want to give credit to Ashwaubenon,” said De Pere head coach Matt Kincade. “It was a high-level match. We knew after getting up 30-6 that they would make a run down the stretch. Daniel obviously got the deciding win, but it took the entire team to get these 42 points and come out on top.”

The Redbirds got victories from Tommy Kratz and Charlie Hooyman to take an early 24-point lead.

The Jaguars countered with wins by Nathan Moynihan, Cody Minor and Noah Leisgang to remain within striking distance despite having to take three forfeits.

“We have a lot of really good wrestlers,” said Ashwaubenon head coach Jody VanLaanen. “The problem is, we have to get 14 on the mat during the course of an important conference dual. We handed De Pere 18 points and lost by eight. My hope is that we get there by season’s end.”

With the Redbirds holding a precarious 36-34 lead after Dawson Dembroski and Connor Ramage gathered pins for the Jaguars, the bout between Fernandez and Kiewiz decided the dual.

Fernandez got an early takedown to take a two-point advantage into the second period.

Kiewiz held his own with an escape to trim the margin to a single point.

As the third period progressed, Fernandez wore Kiewiz down with a reversal and near fall to take a huge lead before recording the pin.

De Pere 42, Ashwaubenon 34

182: Tommy Kratz (DP) over Jordan Vandehei (Ash) (fall, 5:39).

195: Nathan Moynihan (Ash) over Matt Brundidge (DP) (fall, 1:05).

220: Lawton Bielinski (DP) over (Ash) (forfeit).

285: Charlie Hooyman (DP) over James Murdock (Ash) (fall, 2:31).

106: Collin Hansen (DP) over (Ash) (forfeit).

113: Shane Corrigan (DP) over (Ash) (forfeit).

120: Cody Minor (Ash) over (DP) (forfeit).

126: Micky Kiernan (Ash) over Shayn Quick (DP) (major decision, 9-1).

132: Noah Leisgang (Ash) over Sam Bruss (DP) (decision, 4-2).

138: Fernando Cornando (Ash) over Andrew Lopez (DP) (decision, 11-7).

145: Hunter Mashl (DP) over Marty Kiernan (Ash) (fall, 3:50).

152: Dawson Dembroski (Ash) over Zane Selner (DP) fall, 1:14).

160: Connor Ramage (Ash) over Preston Ehlinger (DP) (fall, 0:34).

170: Daniel Fernandez (DP) over Austin Kiewiz (Ash) (fall, 4:58).

DSC_0110 (2) DSC_0114 (2) DSC_0116 (2) DSC_0118 (2) DSC_0124 (3) DSC_0132 (2) DSC_0139 (2) DSC_0145 (2) DSC_0155 (2) DSC_0159 (2) DSC_0161 (2) DSC_0167 (2) DSC_0185 (3) DSC_0187 (2) DSC_0191 (2) DSC_0195 (2)
Jaguars Fernando Coronado and Redbirds Andrew Lopez engage in a six minute battle that ends with Coronado winning in a decision
Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top