Home » Sports » Pirates edge Redbirds in overtime

Pirates edge Redbirds in overtime


DE PERE—The Bay Port boys’ basketball team won a 59-55 overtime game over De Pere in Fox River Classic Conference action Dec. 11 at De Pere High School.

Cole Weber led the Pirates (3-1 overall, 2-0 FRCC) with 14 points and Logan Bruntz added 10.

Brad Nies paved the way for the Redbirds (2-2, 0-2) with 19 points.

Both teams were whistled for a combined 53 fouls.

“This was a huge road win for this young team,” said Bay Port head coach Nate Rykal.

The Pirates jumped out to an early 11-6 lead behind the penetration of Chris Farrington, who found Logan Geissler and Andrew Thomas for two early field goals.

The Redbirds battled back and took their first lead of the evening at 15-14 behind the interior play of Nies.

After the Redbirds took a two-point lead into halftime, four lead changes ensued to start the second half.

“I thought we had a couple of chances to extend our lead with about 12 minutes to go,” said De Pere head coach Brian Winchester. “Brad got in foul trouble and we had a couple of costly turnovers during that stretch when Bay Port came back.”

The Pirates finally seized a 40-39 lead on a Bruntz three-pointer with 6:27 left.

Late in the game and the Pirates holding a six-point lead, Nies made two field goals and a free throw to even the game at 49.

After a Bay Port shot rattled in and out, the Redbirds took the final 48 seconds off the clock but couldn’t muster a good look, sending the game to an extra four minutes.

In overtime, and the Pirates holding a 53-50 lead, Geissler took the ball from the top of the key and drove the lane for a bucket. Another significant factor was that Nies picked up his fifth foul.

“That was a momentum changer with Logan,” added Rykal. “If that goes the other way, you never know what happens.”

Box Score

Bay Port: 24, 25, 10—59

De Pere: 26, 23, 6—55

Pirates: Weber 14, Bruntz 10, Farrington 9, Begotka 8, Geissler 6, DeCleene 5, Thomas 5, Salem 2.

Redbirds: Nies 19, Kinziger 10, Dehn 8, Basten 5, Ellis 5, Spaeth 4, Hohol 3, Coisman 1.

Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top