Home » Sports » Ashwaubenon » Jaguars tennis wins Kaukauna Invite

Jaguars tennis wins Kaukauna Invite

By Murray Gleffe


KAUKAUNA-The Ashwaubenon Jaguars girls tennis team won 19 of 20 matches to capture the seven team Kaukauna Invite held Saturday afternoon at Kaukauna and Kimberly high schools. (Sept. 8)

The Jaguars finished with 40 points, well ahead of second place New London who came in with 23.

Freshman Natasha Schiegg (No. 2 singles) had an easy time of it in her two first matches by not dropping a game.

However, in the final, Schiegg found herself down 2-0 in the opening set behind the steady groundstrokes of Kiel’s Savannah Walsdorf.

Schiegg changed her game up after the changeover to hit with more pace and it worked.

She rattled off 12 of the final 13 games to capture the championship.

At number three doubles, the team of Addison Stromberg and Delaney Christensen put their volley game on full display in the quarterfinal and semi-final matches.

The two connected on 54 winners and only had 12 unforced errors.

In the final, the duo went up against the number two seeded team of Olivia Tews and Myah Henderson of New London.

After easily winning the first set, the Bulldogs pair fought back and evened the match at a set apiece.

A super-tiebreaker decided who would come out on top in the final match.

At three all, Christensen ripped a backhand down the line to give the Jaguars the upper-hand.

Later in the match, with the Jaguars up 9-6, Stromberg finished the match out in style with a service ace up the middle.

The Jaguars have captured the Beaver Dam, Wauwatosa East, and now the Kaukauna Invite this year and sit at 11-3 overall in dual matches.


1 Marisa Marohl (Ash) over Isabella Buettner (Shaw), 6-1, 6-0.

1 Kate Christian (Nl) over Marohl (Ash), 2-6, 6-3, 10-8.

1 Marohl (Ash) over Jacalyn Crom (Kiel), 6-1, 6-0.

2 Natasha Schiegg (Ash) over Grace Roberts (Gbw), 6-0, 6-0.

2 Schiegg (Ash) over Peyton Buerman (Shaw), 6-0, 6-0.

2 Schiegg (Ash) over Walsdorf (Kiel), 6-2, 6-1.

3 Emily DeLaurelle (Ash) Bye

3 DeLaurelle (Ash) over Katie Frank (Kauk), 6-1, 6-0.

3 DeLaurelle (Ash) over Trisha Luedtke (Nl), 6-0, 6-0.

4 Lily Hansford (Ash) over Andrea Malotte (Men), 6-0, 6-0.

4 Hansford (Ash) over Jada Leon (Kauk), 6-2, 6-1.

4 Hansford (Ash) over Rylie Anderson (Shaw), 6-0, 6-1.


1 Maddy Coopmans/Caylee Behnke (Ash) over Megan Pankow/Mariah Herter (Nl), 6-1,6-1.

1 Coopmans/Behnke (Ash) over Lydia Dobbenstein/Grace Licausi (Shaw), 6-1,6-1.

1 Coopmans/Behnke (Ash) over Nikki Verhagen/Lauren Thede (Kauk), 6-0,6-1.

2 Courtney Behnke/Kennedy Conradt (Ash) over Serena Blatz/Katherine Dickrell (Kiel), 6-0, 6-2.

2 Behnke/Conradt (Ash) over Lauren Winkler/Tess Ruckdashel (Nl), 7-5, 6-2.

2 Behnke/Conradt (Ash) over Alana Krolow/Annalyse Wilber (Shaw), 6-0, 6-1.

3 Delaney Christensen/Addison Stromberg (Ash) over Claire Cops/Kayla Corbeille (Kauk), 6-0, 6-1.

3 Christensen/Stromberg (Ash) over Emily Swanson/Erin Swanson (Kiel), 6-0, 6-2.

3 Christensen/Stromberg (Ash) over Myah Henderson/Olivia Tews (Nl), 6-2, 4-6, 10-6.

Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top