Home » Sports » Ashwaubenon » Guarascio tops first team; Jaguars basketball recap and all-conference honors

Guarascio tops first team; Jaguars basketball recap and all-conference honors

By Murray Gleffe, Correspondent

ASHWAUBENON-Anthony Guarascio put on a show for the Jaguars basketball team in 2017-18 despite their 5-18 overall record.

For the season, he scored 485 points, grabbed 197 rebounds, and had 32 swipes.

He averaged a team high 21.1 points per game. Included in that mark were three games in which he topped 30 plus points.

He scored at least 11 points in every single game; an incredible feat!

His scoring was impressive enough, but he also was a monster on the glass. He had multiple games in which he had 10 or more rebounds in.

For the season, Guarascio had 11 double-double’s.

That’s half of a regular season scoring at least 10 points and snatching 10 rebounds.

His success on the court was rewarded by the panel on being named as one of the top six players in the Fox River Classic Conference.

The Jaguars did collect big wins over Sheboygan North, Green Bay Preble, and Green Bay Southwest at the beginning of the year in which guards Will Adair, Griffin Baierl, Jeremy Cox, and Evan Wood scored 79 points, but injuries unfortunately hit the team early and often.

Bryant Phillips had been averaging 17.7 PPG for the first six games of the season (including a 30- point outburst versus West De Pere) before a back injury shelved him for the entire season. He no doubt would have been in contention for all-conference honors.

The Jaguars graduate six of their top eight players but will count on underclassmen Kenneth Brooks, Luke Hansford, Kyle Krueger, Bennett Schuster, Marcus Wagner, Ben Wendorf, and Brady Wittig, to help with production on next years squad.


2017/18 Boys Basketball All-Conference honors:


Player of the Year:

Jack Plumb-Bay Port


Defensive Player of the Year:

Dylan Hendricks-Pulaski


Coach of the Year:

Dave Shaw-Pulaski


First Team:

Jack Plump-Bay Port-12

Cordell Tinch-Bay Port-12

Matthew Rader-Notre Dame-12

Brent Widder-Sheboygan North-12

Cole Bouche-GB Southwest-12

Anthony Guarascio-Ashwaubenon-12


Second Team:

Dylan Hendricks-Pulaski-11

Pierce Narges-Pulaski-12

Camden Wall-GB Preble-12

Will Pytelski-GB Southwest-11

Josh Govek-Sheboygan South-10

Patrick Danen-De Pere-12


Honorable Mention:

Alec Nagel-Bay Port

Deland Phillips-Bay Port

Austin Allen-De Pere

Ben Collette-De Pere

Lucas Stieber-GB Southwest

Mason Dopirak-Manitowoc Lincoln

Avery Lyons-Notre Dame

Reese Johnson-Notre Dame

Trevor Stiede-Pulaski

Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top