Home » Sports » Ashwaubenon » Minor and Leisgang excel at State-Jaguars Wrestling recap and all-conference honors

Minor and Leisgang excel at State-Jaguars Wrestling recap and all-conference honors

By Murray Gleffe, Correspondent

ASHWAUBENON-Some people unfamiliar with the Jaguars wrestling program might not know that Cody Minor and Noah Leisgang are only Sophomores.

That being said, they took their immense wrestling skills into the State Tournament and both finished third individually.

One year after not making the state tournament as a Freshman, Minor was honored with the prestigious ‘Wrestler of the Year’ award in the Fox River Classic Conference.

Fernando Coronado and Connor Ramage completed the quartet of Jaguars wrestlers to make it to Madison.

Both had tremendous years in which each won over 30 matches on the season.

The Jaguars wrestling team finished 11-3 overall.

Included in that mark was a Grafton Duals Invitational team victory (won all five matches), and non-conference wins over Seymour and West De Pere.

In FRCC action, the Jaguars finished 4-3 with a key victory over the De Pere Redbirds.

Many times during the season, the Jaguars were short-handed or just met the maximum of wrestlers to take the mat making their accomplishments that much more impressive.

For their success, the Jaguars placed eight wrestlers on the all-conference list.


Noah Leisgang (pictured right) finished third at the WIAA State Wrestling Tournament


FRCC 2017/18 All-Conference Wrestling Honors


Wrestlers of the Year:

Max Bruss-De Pere

Cody Minor-Ashwaubenon


Coach of the Year:

Brad Shefchik-Bay Port


First Team:

Noah Leisgang-Ashwaubenon

Connor Ramage-Ashwaubenon

Caleb Hale-Bay Port

Eli Trast-Bay Port

Max Bruss-De Pere

Charlie Hooyman-De Pere

Cole Gille-Pulaski

Logan Bellow-Pulaski

Cody Minor-Ashwaubenon

Fernando Coronado-Ashwaubenon

Connor Derenne-GB Preble

Kade Cummings-GB Preble

Anthony Balch-GB Preble

Demario Ford-Manitowoc Lincoln


Second Team:

Mick Kiernan-Ashwaubenon

Dawson Dembroski-Ashwaubenon

Connor Halverson-Bay Port

Travis Jahnke-Bay Port

Austin Esser-De Pere

Tommy Kratz-De Pere

Daniel Hernandez-GB Preble

Jordan Kraft-Manitowoc Lincoln

Lucas Gracyalny-Pulaski

Derek Gibbons-Pulaski

Nathan Moynihan-Ashwaubenon

Andrew Lopez-De Pere

Owen Heinz-Pulaski

Jadin Lemke-Pulaski

Max Meeuwsen-Bay Port


Honorable Mention:

Marty Kiernan-Ashwaubenon

Austin Heim-Bay Port

Jack Ehrfuth-Bay Port

Collin Derenne-GB Preble

Evan Clark-Manitowoc Lincoln

Jake Debruin-Manitowoc Lincoln

Tanner Weigand-Manitowoc Lincoln

Brock Gracyalny-Pulaski

Trevor Van Oss-De Pere

Brandon Waier-Sheboygan North

Facebook Comments
Scroll to Top